Turn the Page

Letting go is hard. Letting go of failure, disappointment, fear, anxiety, people, things, control, ego. 

This has been a heck of a week already. Friday I was at a funeral where people shared memories and anecdotes about a person we had to let go from this earth. That person can still exist in memory but there are some things that can never be how they once were, even a week ago, because that person is gone now. 

Saying goodbye to people always brings about the very sobering reality that time is promised to no one. So Say what you need to say. Love on those you have and if you have been holding yourself back in any way from living your best life, step out on faith and do what you need to do. Time moves in one direction and that’s forward. 

Another heck of a week moment was a call that may possible get me a ticket to see President Obama’s final speech as President while he’s in Chicago on Tuesday. Still hoping that one works out. America takes on a new leader in just over a week. I anticipate a lot of change will come with it. After following the direction of one person and their administration for 8 years and another single person for 8 years prior to that, a new direction that doesn’t feel as stable or reassuring is unsettling. 

The idea of letting go to unwillingly embark on the wave of unpredictability we’ve seen so far is troubling. I hope and pray the reality will prove to be more positive than it currently seems.

But the nice thing about letting go is holding onto the good stuff. When we let go of 2016 to enter 2017, that didn’t mean erasing it from our history. That’s why people get pissed when with every 12am clock strike, some throw off the old year declaring “New Year, New Me!” But what about the good things you can keep building upon?? We don’t need to write a whole new story each year. We just add a new set of chapters to the book. In your letting go, don’t go at it with reckless abandon. Keep the good, handy stuff and build with it. Keep those memories of those lost and honor them by how you live.

Being 8 days into this 365 day adventure that is 2017, I know more letting go is to come. Some will be productive. 

I intend to let go of some bad habits in favor of new ones. I intend to give over more control so the lessons I need to learn this year will come easier. 

Some letting go will be tougher say in moments where I may not want to or feel ready to let go. I have to challenge myself to move on anyways when it’s time to move on. We all do sometimes: in work, in life, in relationships and friendships, etc. 

Building up what I have once other things are let go is important — my relationship, my community, my friendships, my family, my career, my next moves, my choices, my freedom, my character, my health and wellness.

When we can free ourselves enough to let go of fear and control and let life happen, we may find it’s not so hard to turn the page when necessary. We may even find something good waiting for us on the other side, after the page has turned and a new chapter begun. 

Be encouraged that light can always manage to find its way, breaking through darkness to bring hope and direction. 

I hope January, chapter one of twelve for this year will be full of more ups than downs for all of us. Cheers to health, wealth and sanity. 

Published by

Life Untangled

I am a Chicago business professional with a passionate love for writing and living life out loud. I created this lifestyle blog to motivate and inspire aspirational individuals who want to live their best version of life without fear. My goal is to empower people all over the world to create lives of joy, success and freedom through personal and professional development. Life moves far too quickly for us not to enjoy the journey. This is to untangling life, love, liberty and the pursuit of peace and happiness. There are many lessons I have learned to embrace when it comes to life, love and work in our culturally rich world. I want to share what I have learned so it can encourage you to live your best version of life. Plus, I'm a social introvert so I am always thinking about things like how to destroy negative stereotypes around being courageous and brave enough to live life to the fullest, sometimes on your own. There is no need for you to wait on someone else in order to live YOUR life! It is exciting and thrilling. You have that level of brave in you no matter your personality type and I dare you to live it out loud! Are you ready to learn how?

Leave a Reply

