Self-Care Sunday

Sometimes you have to intentionally create the atmosphere and environment you want to be in. That’s why I love my Self-Care Sundays.

Self-care is so important because how can you take care of others who need your 100% if you aren’t taking care of yourself? 

I think I got the Self-Care Sunday idea from celebrity stylist June Ambrose who has different themes for each day of the week. She posts on her social media accounts based on these themes. Maverick Monday, Talk Tuesday, Wow Wednesday, Think Thursday, Forecast Friday, Sober Saturday and Sacred Sunday for example are her daily themes for the week. I’m adding Self-Care Sunday to June’s toolbox of great phrases.

For me Self-Care Sunday is about ushering in calm and peace to begin the week. I love lighting candles and turning on music to chill out. I usually do an at-home spa routine complete with a facial, scrub (Skye Renee Body Scrub is a fave. All-natural and homemade. Product created by Tiffany Jeanty in Atlanta), foot soak and nail care. I also spend a little time playing in my hair care and beauty products. I’ll blog on that another day since I often get asked about my favorite products. I sample lots of products so I love sharing what works well. 

Here are two of my own Spotify playlists for bringing on the good lyrical vibes…my mellow or 2016 Trinidad Carnivale Soca are my regular playing favorites. 

Three months ago I subscribed to Calmbox

“Calmbox is a monthly box inspiring positivity, peace, and calm in everyday life. 

Every calmbox is packed full of mindfully curated items like music, books, candles, personal care items, yummy snacks, motivational reminders, and so much more, to help you unwind and relax.

We find a new theme every month (like meditation, stress relief, or living in the moment) and deliver a box to your door to help you live a calmer, more peaceful life. A portion of proceeds of every box are donated to charity.”

Some of my favorite Calmbox goodies have been:

  1. Flying Bird Botanicals Peace of Mind Tea
  2. Everyday Positive Thinking. I take pics of different quotes regularly and text them out to friends. 
  3. Frisky Fish Chill Aromatherapy Roll-On. This is small enough to slip in your pocket and roll-on anytime during the day you just need some aromatherapy. 
  4. Motivational Tattoos – The Cute Set
  5. Valentina’s Soul Detox Mineral Bath Salts
  6. Chimes Peppermint Ginger Chews

Right now I am also getting back on track with my book list. Before bed, I try to read a few pages of Tina Fey’s Bossypants. Self-care is wholistic in nature. Well it should be. 

Every Sunday I spend time writing and blogging so it helps me to mentally relax and get some thoughts in my never-resting brain out to the world. 

All of these things are key to having a toolkit of what helps me minimize or eliminate stress. When I take good care of me, those around me benefit greatly. 

Self-care is also not just a Sunday thing. It should be happening as often as you need it. If starting with just one day or hour that’s about getting your own self in order, that is perfect. We can build from there but it has to start somewhere. 
What are your go-to’s for self-care? I’d love to hear from you! 


Published by

Life Untangled

I am a Chicago business professional with a passionate love for writing and living life out loud. I created this lifestyle blog to motivate and inspire aspirational individuals who want to live their best version of life without fear. My goal is to empower people all over the world to create lives of joy, success and freedom through personal and professional development. Life moves far too quickly for us not to enjoy the journey. This is to untangling life, love, liberty and the pursuit of peace and happiness. There are many lessons I have learned to embrace when it comes to life, love and work in our culturally rich world. I want to share what I have learned so it can encourage you to live your best version of life. Plus, I'm a social introvert so I am always thinking about things like how to destroy negative stereotypes around being courageous and brave enough to live life to the fullest, sometimes on your own. There is no need for you to wait on someone else in order to live YOUR life! It is exciting and thrilling. You have that level of brave in you no matter your personality type and I dare you to live it out loud! Are you ready to learn how?

Leave a Reply

