Dear Mom

This week one of the most special women in my life celebrates a birthday. My mom is an incredible lady who I love and admire. I can’t wait to celebrate with her over the upcoming holiday this week. 

Mom, if you’re the only one who reads this, that would be enough. 

Happy birthday! Thanks for your love. I appreciate that we are so close these days that we can call each other and chat like old girlfriends. You always share knowledge and wisdom which I enjoy. You have raised daughters of good character who can leave a beautiful legacy like you will. 

It’s hard to believe now that during some of my rotten pre-teen & teenage moments, I neglected to see  your wisdom. Thanks for not holding that against me. You always knew you taught me better and your training did help me grow past those areas of immaturity. 

I know if I ever have kids, I will be able to take bits of what you did and have a strong, God-loving household. 

Our family’s struggles and humble beginnings in life are nothing for any of us to be ashamed of. Without tests and trials, new limits can hardly be reached. 

Your story is powerful mom. You have triumphed over many challenges. You are an overcomer and you have been living life to its fullest in the process. 

I am the human being I am today because of the goodness and love you and dad gave growing up even though we didn’t have all the money or the biggest houses and newest cars and this and that. You all raised my sisters and I with the best of what you had and seeing what we have done with that now, I know makes you proud. 

You, yourself have plenty to be proud of. You have an incredible amount of strength, resilience, power, class and spirit to leave this world a better place. 

You and dad taught us respect for others and how to be kind and thoughtful and compassionate. In the same breath, I also love that you taught me to have boundaries and not let others walk over me which shows self-respect. You taught us the value of an education and also how things learned in books can’t be the other thing to rely on to make you smart. You taught common sense and knowing how rare common  sense actually is, I can’t help but be thankful. 

We have come a long way from where we used to be but you taught us to be proud of where we’re from and how we started. You taught us values and standards are worth having. 

Mom I am forever grateful for the support you pour into me. The concern and care you have towards making sure I’m safe and taken care of is amazing. I value the prayers you speak over my life and my household. 

You inspire my love for travel by encouraging it. You’ve always inspired my love of learning. 

You’re also pretty funny and I’m glad we can have a good laugh with one another. Sometimes you go a little off the rails with the text emojis but I wouldn’t have it any other way. I know you laugh me off about you being my Matron of Honor if I ever get married but I am so serious that I’m going to do that. Doesn’t that sound fun?? 

I wanted to write this because similarly to when I recorded you for StoryCorps, I like to reflect later on memories and share them with others. I always want history to remember those who made a tremendous impact. You are one of those people to me.

We are all blessed to know you mom.

As you always used to tell me before the end of every visit or phone call, I love you. God Bless you and keep you.

Cheers to many more birthday years! 

Me & Mom
Published by

Life Untangled

I am a Chicago business professional with a passionate love for writing and living life out loud. I created this lifestyle blog to motivate and inspire aspirational individuals who want to live their best version of life without fear. My goal is to empower people all over the world to create lives of joy, success and freedom through personal and professional development. Life moves far too quickly for us not to enjoy the journey. This is to untangling life, love, liberty and the pursuit of peace and happiness. There are many lessons I have learned to embrace when it comes to life, love and work in our culturally rich world. I want to share what I have learned so it can encourage you to live your best version of life. Plus, I'm a social introvert so I am always thinking about things like how to destroy negative stereotypes around being courageous and brave enough to live life to the fullest, sometimes on your own. There is no need for you to wait on someone else in order to live YOUR life! It is exciting and thrilling. You have that level of brave in you no matter your personality type and I dare you to live it out loud! Are you ready to learn how?

2 thoughts on “Dear Mom”

  1. Thank you Dilaun your message was encouraging,and very inspiring!! We need more positive role models like you!! So many of our young ladies need to hear messages like yours. Keep up the good work!! You go girl

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

