Tell Me Your Story: Getting to Know Humanity One Tale at a Time

I always find myself wondering people’s stories.

When I meet someone new, I would rather jump right in. That’s probably the introvert in me. If you want to keep my attention in conversation, let’s talk about something with meaning. Leave the surface level topics for someone else.

Even when I meet up with friends or family, instead of asking, “How are you?” which never gets me anywhere near the truth, I would rather ask, “What’s your story?” or “Tell me something new.”

And the story always changes right? The story is ever evolving. I want to know whatever you’re willing to share.

I am eager to hear what lessons you have learned that could help me or anyone. I wonder how many would tell me if I asked questions like this. Like the stranger sitting next to me on the bus. I know asking in such a setting is not encouraged. Or what about that person on the street who intrigues me for one reason or another. What’s your story?

In a humorous way, I see myself walking through the streets like that random guy in Pretty Woman. What’s your dream??

Sometimes I just want to switch it up from Hi, how are you? Too many generic answers with no depth or truth or honesty most times. I hate that I do it too. It is such a habit to reply GOOD or FINE. What happens when we actually have a real answer but the asker already moved on?

So I love the work I do helping unemployed job seekers find work. The company culture of my office relies heavily on the power of stories.

We start every morning with a time of sharing stories in a daily meeting called Motivations. There is a new topic every day and the topic never allows anyone the chance to keep things surface level. The purpose of sharing a story in Motivations is to touch, move and inspire the group with your experience.

It helps energize everyone, gives a glimpse into your life and helps us relate more to one another. It builds community in our fast-paced work culture.

I think one of our challenges in the world today is we do not share enough with each other. We can use a lesson in walking in other people’s shoes to understand that their struggles, challenges, fears, anxieties, loves, joys, etc may not be so different from yours.

At the basic human level, we can share so much. We choose not to and instead build walls in an attempt to never welcome an “other” into our world.

Instead when we share, though our stories may still differ on many levels, we find a way to empathize and connect with one another in new ways. I do not have to live your life or have gone through all of your experiences but I can be impacted by your story.

I remember years ago I was in a grocery store line and an older couple was checking out in front of me. They said something to the cashier about being married over 60 years. So I started asking questions. Curiousity got the best of me and I was fascinated by their story.

I want to learn from the people around me as much as I can. I can only learn from people if they are willing to share with me.

Last year I was introduced to the StoryCorps organization and app. It is a cool way to capture recorded stories of anyone. You can ask them questions you create or use a pre-made list. It is a great way to do what I spent this whole post enouraging…hearing people’s stories.

I used my mom as my first subject after I downloaded the app. I learned so much more about her in just the 20 minute interview and it was inspiring and moving. I look forward to asking many more questions and learning plenty more from all those around me. I hope you will consider taking up the challenge.

So, what’s your story?

image

Published by

Life Untangled

I am a Chicago business professional with a passionate love for writing and living life out loud. I created this lifestyle blog to motivate and inspire aspirational individuals who want to live their best version of life without fear. My goal is to empower people all over the world to create lives of joy, success and freedom through personal and professional development. Life moves far too quickly for us not to enjoy the journey. This is to untangling life, love, liberty and the pursuit of peace and happiness. There are many lessons I have learned to embrace when it comes to life, love and work in our culturally rich world. I want to share what I have learned so it can encourage you to live your best version of life. Plus, I'm a social introvert so I am always thinking about things like how to destroy negative stereotypes around being courageous and brave enough to live life to the fullest, sometimes on your own. There is no need for you to wait on someone else in order to live YOUR life! It is exciting and thrilling. You have that level of brave in you no matter your personality type and I dare you to live it out loud! Are you ready to learn how?

4 thoughts on “Tell Me Your Story: Getting to Know Humanity One Tale at a Time”

  1. Dilaun, I love your writing and especially this post. I’m also naturally curious (some of my family/friends call it nosy) but I want to know people’s stories too. I’ll usually ask to, as people walk pass “What’s your story” and they love it. Thanks for this one, I wish we could all connect on a deeper level, maybe it’d help us to be a little kinder to one another.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I will be interested to read YOUR stories! I’ve never known why I hated small talk until recently… small talk doesn’t really tell us who you are! You’re right – hearing each others stories shares the core of who someone is. I’m all for communication, but if we’re going to talk… well LET’S TALK! Don’t waste time! #digdeep

    Liked by 1 person

    1. So true! Thanks for reading Seida. Every week since April when I started Life Untangled, I write from real experiences and what I have seen in life. It is freeing to share the good and challenging because it is honest and people get more out of it. I hope you will continue to read and share my posts with others as well. Hope you had a great birthday dear!

      Like

Leave a Reply

