Make Your Story Legendary

I was inspired to write this post by an advertisement in Essence magazine. It made me really think about the value in having drive for the future big picture.

Sometimes life gives us flashes that don’t make sense separately but when you start piecing them together, the picture gets more full. I finally seem to be making out the image in my own life’s puzzle. I still have a ways to go but every day I approach with purpose becomes a solid day.

Have you ever sat with a puzzle that has so many pieces you do not know where to begin? I always start with the edges and pieces that seem easiest to fit (not force) together. Even when I know that the pieces will indeed make the big picture I saw on the box, the work is tedious and sometimes seems impossible.

Life is like this. We have all these pieces that we are in the middle of figuring out. Sometimes confidently, sometimes tentatively hopeful that the picture will begin to make sense soon.

I have found myself with puzzle glimpses into my future – professional and personal. The puzzle is still hazy but increasing the list of dreams is actually comforting. If I can dream it, I can make it a reality.

In Essence and Real Simple, I read several articles this week about ambitious, accomplished women. I have been talking with and hearing from many women I know who have made major decisions recently to follow their dreams. I was cleaning out my cabinets as an extension of a post I wrote a couple weeks ago and came across a book I had forgotten about climbing the career ladder in stilettos. I have refreshed my mile-long book list to include this forgotten one as well.

It gets me excited to read about, hear from and talk with these women. Success reminds me about what I am capable of. Stories of success used to remind me of all the things I was self-concious about having not done yet. I had to grow out of that if I wanted to live the life I truly want.

Here are 6 ways you can find your drive too:

1. Get Revved Up
You have to get excited with where you are going. If you don’t know where you’re going but you have written dreams and ambition, trust the puzzle to come together. There are still people making tremendous impacts in young and old age — certainly everywhere in between. You have to do the work but get excited about the work so you can get others on board too.

2. Embrace The Journey
The journey may not always be swift but I hope you deem it worth the work and worth the wait.

3. Pave A New Path
Sometimes it is important to think outside the box. Sometimes I do myself a disservice when I think I need to create an idea that is SO far outside the box. It can be just one step outside the box and it is still outside the box. I was reading about a young lady who created her own stainless steel water bottle that keeps water cold for 24 hours. She came up with the idea on a hiking trip after pulling out her plastic water bottle full of warm water because it was such a hot day. She developed the product, found people to help her and eventually landed a big customer – Crate and Barrel. She was smart enough to take a simple idea and turn it into reality.

4. Fuel Yourself
There may be times along the journey where you need to refuel. A support system and network is important here. Pay attention for when you might be running on empty.

5. Accelerate The Positive
When you find yourself in a good momentum, use it to your advantage. It is important to learn from mistakes and failures but… Don’t forget to celebrate the wins.

6. Be Ready For The Ride

What in this post was helpful for you? 

image

Published by

Life Untangled

I am a Chicago business professional with a passionate love for writing and living life out loud. I created this lifestyle blog to motivate and inspire aspirational individuals who want to live their best version of life without fear. My goal is to empower people all over the world to create lives of joy, success and freedom through personal and professional development. Life moves far too quickly for us not to enjoy the journey. This is to untangling life, love, liberty and the pursuit of peace and happiness. There are many lessons I have learned to embrace when it comes to life, love and work in our culturally rich world. I want to share what I have learned so it can encourage you to live your best version of life. Plus, I'm a social introvert so I am always thinking about things like how to destroy negative stereotypes around being courageous and brave enough to live life to the fullest, sometimes on your own. There is no need for you to wait on someone else in order to live YOUR life! It is exciting and thrilling. You have that level of brave in you no matter your personality type and I dare you to live it out loud! Are you ready to learn how?

Leave a Reply

