Your Reputation Will Follow Where You Lead

All in one day, I saw three people who have known me at different stages in my life: elementary school, high school and college.

It seemed crazy at the time and I had no clue it would happen. I decided to visit Soul City church in Chicago for the first time.

The first person, I had not seen in 10 years since my high school graduation. We met in 6th grade after I transferred schools. It has been SO long yet the second I walked in the room today, she told me that she knew it was me.

After the service, she came over to say hello and exchange hugs and “So what have you been up to’s.” We made our way to the lobby so she could show me around.

The second person’s face emerged out of a huge crowd of people filing out of the Soul City auditorium. Through the streams of people, we managed to make eye contact and immediately made our way to each other for hugs and “It’s great to see you’s!” We graduated from the same high school and again it has been several years since seeing one another.

The third person sought me out, having noticed me walking around to see the Soul City building. I had briefly seen her in the crowd earlier and thought, “Cute hair.” I had no clue I was talking about a girl who I went to college with until she found me later.

It was the most pleasant, unexpected experiences to have today which brings me to my focus.

You never know who you will run into and when. You never know when people will show back up again in your life. You never know how you might need them or be helped by them or have an opportunity to help them through something.

Our big world is so small sometimes.

Have you ever had this happen to you? You see a person you know in a random time frame of life. Of all the people, all the places in the world, we managed to be here in this same space at the same time. Had it been a few minutes earlier or later maybe it wouldn’t have happened but it did.

I personally don’t think things like that just happen. I think it happens for a reason. I don’t know the reason but it’s pretty cool when you find yourself in that kind of providence.

When it does happen, I want the kind of welcoming reactions I got today. I have always wondered, am I the type of person that people remember or forget? I want to be remembered and especially with gladness.

If you unexpectedly found yourself with people who had not seen you in a while, would they want to welcome you with open arms? Your reputation matters and it will always follow where you lead.

What kind of reputation do you have? What kind of life are you leading? What kind of legacy are you building?

image

Published by

Life Untangled

I am a Chicago business professional with a passionate love for writing and living life out loud. I created this lifestyle blog to motivate and inspire aspirational individuals who want to live their best version of life without fear. My goal is to empower people all over the world to create lives of joy, success and freedom through personal and professional development. Life moves far too quickly for us not to enjoy the journey. This is to untangling life, love, liberty and the pursuit of peace and happiness. There are many lessons I have learned to embrace when it comes to life, love and work in our culturally rich world. I want to share what I have learned so it can encourage you to live your best version of life. Plus, I'm a social introvert so I am always thinking about things like how to destroy negative stereotypes around being courageous and brave enough to live life to the fullest, sometimes on your own. There is no need for you to wait on someone else in order to live YOUR life! It is exciting and thrilling. You have that level of brave in you no matter your personality type and I dare you to live it out loud! Are you ready to learn how?

Leave a Reply

